#### TRANSLATION FOR REFERENCE ONLY)

# **UBE INDUSTRIES, LTD.**

June 26, 2009

#### To Our Shareholders

Hiroaki Tamura President and Representative Director Ube Industries, Ltd. 1978-96, O-Aza Kogushi,, Ube-shi, Yamaguchi, 755-8633, Japan

# Resolutions of the 103rd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders

We hereby inform you of the reported matters and resolutions approved by the 103rd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders held on June 26, 2009 as follows:

### Matters To Be Reported:

We reported

- 1. The Annual Reports, and the Consolidated Financial Statements for 103rd fiscal year (from April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009) as well as the Audit Reports on Consolidated Financial Statements by Independent Auditors and the Board of Auditors
- 2. The Non-Consolidated Account Documents for 103rd fiscal year (from April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009)

#### Resolutions:

#### Resolution 1: Disposition of Retained Earning

It was approved as originally proposed, including a distribution of a year-end cash dividend at the rate of ¥4 per share.

### Resolution 2: Partial Amendments to the Articles of Incorporation

It was approved as originally proposed with respect to the following:

(1) Since the Law Partially Revising Law on Transfer of Bonds, etc. for the Rational Settlement of Stock Transactions, etc (Act No.88, 2004) is enacted on January 5, 2009, and the stocks of all listed companies are dematerialized, the provisions premised on share certificate shall be deleted and related provisions shall be

amended.

(2) In order to improve the transparency and soundness of the management by recruiting efficient personnel on selection of Outside Auditors, a new provision concerning the contract on limitation of liability of Outside Auditors shall be established.

# Resolution 3: Election of eight Directors

It was approved as originally proposed that Hiroaki Tamura, Yasuhisa Chiba, Kazuhiko Okada, Akinori Furukawa, Michio Takeshita, Makoto Umetsu, Yoshiomi Matsumoto and Michitaka Motoda were elected and have taken office.

Yoshiomi Matsumoto and Michitaka Motoda are outside Directors.

#### Resolution 4: Election of three Auditor

It was approved as originally proposed that Kazuo Yamanaka, Keisuke Fujioka and Mitsuhiro Fujita were elected and have taken office.

Kazuo Yamanaka and Mitsuhiro Fujita are outside Auditors.

#### Resolution 5: Election of one alternate outside Auditor

It was approved as originally proposed that Daisuke Koriya was elected as an alternate outside Auditor in advance in case the Company lacks the necessary number of outside Statutory Auditors required by law or ordinance.

#### Resolution 6: Payment of Bonus to Directors and Auditors

It was approved as originally proposed that the Company pays bonus to our eight Directors and four Statutory Auditors within the limit of \\$27,900,000 in total.

#### End of Document

Under the resolution of the Board of Directors and the resolution of the Board of Auditors, both of which were held after the close of the 103rd Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders, the respective positions of the Directors and Statutory Auditors are as stated below. The positions of the Executive Officers follows. The one newly appointed Managing Executive Officer took his office as of July 23, 2009 and

the four newly appointed Executive Officer took their office as of April 1, 2009.

# **Directors**

President & Representative Director

Representative Director

Representative Director

Representative Director

Kazuhiko Okada

Director

Akinori Furukawa

Director

Michio Takeshita

Director

Makoto Umetsu

Outside DirectorYoshiomi MatsumotoOutside DirectorMichitaka Motoda

### Auditors

Statutory Auditor (Full-Time)Masaki KashibeStatutory Auditor (Full-Time)Kazuo YamanakaStatutory Auditor (Full-Time)Keisuke FujiokaAuditorMitsuhiro Fujita

### Executive Officers

(\* The person who is also elected as Director)

Group Chief Executive Officer

Vice-President and Executive Officer

Vice-President and Executive Officer

Kazuhiko Okada\*

Senior Managing Executive Officer Koji Kihira

Senior Managing Executive Officer

Senior Managing Executive Officer

Senior Managing Executive Officer

Senior Managing Executive Officer

Michio Takeshita\*

Managing Executive Officer

Charunya Phichitkul

Managing Executive OfficerYuzuru YamamotoManaging Executive OfficerMakoto Umetsu\*Managing Executive OfficerHideyuki Sugishita

Managing Executive Officer Shinobu Watanabe (Newly Appointed)

Executive Officer Nobuyuki Taenaka
Executive Officer Takanobu Kubota

**Executive Officer** Ryoji Sugise

Executive Officer Tomoki Musumi

Executive Officer Tadashi Matsunami

Executive Officer Shinji Ohara

Executive Officer Jun Ueda

Executive Officer Masayuki Kinouchi (Newly Appointed)

**Executive Officer** Eiichi Itoguchi (Newly Appointed)

Executive Officer Masanori Hirai (Newly Appointed)

Executive Officer Junichi Misumi (Newly Appointed)

## Information for Payment of Year-End Cash Dividend

As for the year-end dividend for 103rd fiscal year, please receive at a nearby Japan Post Bank Co., Ltd. you choose with the enclosed "The Receipt of the year-end dividend" within the payment period. (The payment period at the post office is from June 29, 2009 to July 31, 2009.)

For shareholders who have designated bank or postal saving account for receipt of dividends, please confirm the enclosed "Statement of the 103rd fiscal year-end dividend" and the "Information for Regarding the Account for Transfer of Dividend".